>More Linux Tips

>- Detailed info about system: Actually these are kernel messages and are stored as logs in /bin/dmesg.

– Determining runlevel {Shows previous & current runlevel}
0->Halt 1->Single User Mode
2-> Multiuser w/o NFS 3-> Full Multiuser 6-> Reboot

To modify init level-> /etc/inittab

– To switch runlevels, use init command.
$init 3

– Difference between Paging and Swapping
Paging refers to movement of pages to frames on the disk. It’s a considerably cheaper operation. Swapping means to move entire address space of a process to disk. This is very expensive operation and happens when a process sleeps or when thrashing occurs.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s